Main Container

Top Container

bolles logoThe Bolles School logo

Translate Element

Search Element

Drawer Trigger


The History of Bolles


  • Linden Ashby ’78 – actor
  • Ron Clark Ball ’77 – published author
  • Caroline Barlow ’07 – 2010 Rhodes Scholar and US Naval Academy Brigade Commander
  • Jay Bolt ’13 – First Bolles soccer alumnus to join a professional soccer team, United Soccer League’s Charleston Battery
  • Chris Bono ’92 – Wrestling Head Coach at the University of Wisconsin, former head coach at South Dakota State University
  • Gustavo Borges ’91 – Olympic silver (2) and bronze medal swimmer
  • George Bovell ’02 – Olympic bronze medal swimmer
  • Dee Brown ’86 – former NBA basketball player with the Boston Celtics and Toronto Raptors, 1991 NBA Slam Dunk Champion, WNBA head coach of the Orlando Miracle and San Antonio Silver Stars
  • Greg Burgess ’90 – Olympic silver medal swimmer
  • Travis Carroll ’97 – former NFL player with the New Orleans Saints and Houston Texans
  • Dr. Trina Chakravarty ’04 – Boston-based OB-gyn and former Miss India USA and Miss India World
  • Shaun Chapas ’06 – NFL player drafted by the Dallas Cowboys with stints in Detroit, Jacksonville and Baltimore
  • Jackie Crosby ’79 – 1985 Pulitzer Prize winner in journalism
  • Bruce Crump ’76 – original drummer for southern rock band Molly Hatchet
  • Jason DeParle ’78 – New York Times journalist author
  • Char-ron Dorsey ’97 – former NFL player with the Dallas Cowboys and Houston Texans
  • Don Dupree – Four-time Emmy Award winner for TV shows "A Piece of the Game," "Siskel & Ebert" and NBC News
  • Brian Ferlin ’11 – NHL player with the Boston Bruins
  • Fred Haefele ’62 – published author
  • Jeff Hartzer ’69 – published author
  • Renee Halverson ’81 – published author
  • Jay Herndon ’10 – NFL player with the San Diego Chargers
  • Hayden Hurst ’12 – Baltimore Ravens football player
  • Trina Jackson ’95 – Olympic gold medal winner
  • Chipper Jones ’90 – 7-time Major League Baseball All-Star with the Atlanta Braves, 1999 MVP, 1995 World Champion, National Baseball Hall of Fame 2018
  • Joseph Kittinger ’46 – US Air Force pilot, performed highest and fastest skydive over 100,000 feet as key member of Project Excelsior
  • Kay Krill ’73 Bartram – Former President and CEO of ANN Inc.
  • David Larson ’77 – Olympic gold medal swimmer
  • Amelia Lewis ’09 – LPGA Tour player
  • Bailey Chase Luetgert ’90 – American stage and television actor.
  • Brian Liesegang ’88 – Musician, songwriter and producer with several national alternative rock acts
  • David Lopez-Zubero ’77 – Olympic bronze medal swimmer
  • Martin Lopez-Zubero ’87 – Olympic gold medal swimmer
  • Charles Martin ’88- published author
  • Andrew McCabe ’86 – former Deputy Director of the FBI and acting Director of the FBI
  • Ryan Murphy ’13 – three-time Olympic swimming gold medalist 2016
  • Anthony Nesty ’87 – Olympic gold and bronze medal swimmer
  • Gram Parsons ’65 – country rock musician
  • Colin Peek ’05 – All-SEC and Academic All-SEC tight end with 2010 National Champion University Alabama, former NFL free agent signee of the Atlanta Falcons
  • John Russell ’05 – All-ACC defensive lineman for Wake Forest and former NFL player with the Buffalo Bills
  • Kevin Sack ’77 – 2003 Pulitzer Prize winner in journalism
  • Joseph Schooling ’14 – Singaporean swimmer and gold-medalist 2016 Olympics
  • George Scribner ’70 – Artist, director and Imagineer with Disney
  • Christopher Shepard ’99 – published author
  • Ryan Silverfield ’99 – Football coach at the high school, college and NFL including six years with the Minnesota Vikings
  • Riley Skinner ’05 – All-ACC quarterback for Wake Forest and former NFL free agent signee of the New York Giants
  • Austin Slater ’11 – American professional baseball outfielder for the San Francisco Giants of Major League Baseball
  • Jason Spitz ’01—NFL player with the Super Bowl XLV Champion Green Bay Packers and Jacksonville Jaguars
  • Kathy Stark ’81 Bartram –  artist and author
  • DJ Stewart ’12 – All-American baseball player at FSU and first-round draft pick of the Baltimore Orioles
  • John Theus ’12 – offensive tackle for the Tennessee Titans football team
  • Nathan Theus ’11 – long snapper for the Denver Broncos football team
  • David Treadwell ’83 – former NFL football player with the Denver Broncos and New York Giants
  • Emily Turner ’03 – Emmy Award-winning news journalist in California
  • Travis Tygart ’89 – CEO, United States Anti-Doping Agency
  • Fred Tyler ’72 – Olympic gold medal swimmer
  • Alexa von Tobel ’02 – CEO, columnist, author and radio host
  • Dez White ’97 – former NFL player with the Chicago Bears and Atlanta Falcons
  • Ashley Whitney ’98 – Olympic gold medal swimmer
  • Mari Wilensky ’03 – 2006 Miss Florida
  • Rick Wilkins ’85 – former Major League Baseball player with the Chicago Cubs, Houston Astros, San Francisco Giants, Seattle Mariners, New York Mets, Los Angeles Dodgers, St. Louis Cardinals, and San Diego Padres
  • Lauren Yalango-Grant ’02 – former Pilobolus Dance Theater dancer
Established in 1933 as a military school for boys in grades 7-12, Bolles dropped its military affiliation in 1962 and became coeducational in 1971. The independent school is governed by a self perpetuating Board of Trustees. The School's balanced college preparatory program combines academics, offerings in the fine and performing arts, athletics, leadership and service opportunities and activities, and a nationally-known college counseling and guidance program. The boarding program, in which boys and girls reside on different campuses, complements the coeducational learning environment. After-school activities abound on each campus providing numerous opportunities and areas of interest for students.

Bolles' lower school opened in 1981 with the first kindergarten class, expanding each year until the full Pre-K through Grade 5 lower school was complete. In 1991, the School acquired the Bartram Campus, formerly the all-girls Bartram School, which allowed for the addition of a separate middle school facility and a girls' boarding section. In addition, Bolles opened a campus in Ponte Vedra Beach in 1999 to serve students from the Beaches area in grades Pre-K through 5. The School enrolls more than 1,600 students with the capacity to host 90 boarding students. An ongoing development program has made possible substantial improvements to its physical plant over the years, most recently the addition of the state-of-the-art Betsy Lovett Arts Center on the Middle School Bartram Campus and two outstanding new facilities on the Upper School San Jose Campus, the Peyton Boathouse & Rice Family Crew Complex and the Bent Student Center. Bolles Hall, the original structure on the San Jose Campus, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and has been recognized by the Jacksonville Historical Society and the City of Jacksonville.

The Bartram School for Girls

Graduating class of 1934Bartram School for Girls was founded in 1934 by four Jacksonville families: the Atwoods, the Gibbs, the McCrorys and the Osbornes. It was located at Glynlea, the home of their friend, Madeleine Downing Knight, on the south bank of the Arlington River and was originally named Glynlea School. Miss Olga Pratt was the founding head of Glynlea, assisted by her colleague, Miss Lula Miller. The school relocated in the spring of 1938 to its permanent campus on Little Pottsburg Creek and was renamed Bartram School. In 1991 it merged with The Bolles School and became the current middle school campus and home of the girls boarding program.