Skip To Main Content
Cross Country Athletes and Coaches Win State Awards
Jillian Candelino, Aidan Ryan, Tony Ryan, Mike Rivera

Bolles swept the Class 2A awards and Jillian Candelino ’23 won the overall state girls’ runner of the year award in the 2022-23 Florida Dairy Farmers Sports Awards in cross country. Aidan Ryan ’23 won the Class 2A boys’ award, Tony Ryan won the Class 2A girls’ coach of the year award and Mike Rivera won Class 2A boys’ coach of the year award.

Candelino is the first North Florida area runner to be named “Miss Cross Country” since 2001. She won her second consecutive individual state title this season in leading the Bulldogs to their third consecutive and 14th overall team title. She earned the Class 2A runner of the year last season as well.

Aidan Ryan won the Class 2A individual title after finishing as runner-up last season, leading Bolles to the boys’ team title as well. Tony Ryan won his tenth girls’ cross country state title as the Bolles coach and 13th overall and Rivera claimed his fourth title as the boys’ coach. The Class 2A coach of the year award is the tenth for Ryan in girls’ cross country and fourth for Rivera in boys’ cross country.